CMSC 121: Introduction to Computer Science
(Spring 2019)


Section 01:  MWF 11-11:50 am Ruffner G54
Section 02:  MWF 2-2:50 pm Ruffner G54



Course Information Handout/Syllabus
Instructor:
Scott McElfresh
x2249       Ruffner 346
ProfScottMcElfresh @ gmail.com
Website

Office Hours:
(no appointment needed,
just drop by during these times)


yellow divider
Calendar

Mon, Jan 14

No classes.
Tue, Jan 15

Wed, Jan 16

Topics:
  • Introduction
  • What is Computer Science?
Video:
Assigned:

  • Technology and Society assignment (due dates in stages)
  • Be sure that you can access the LancerNet wireless on your laptop.
  • First history assignment (due Fri)
  • Read about Arithmetic on a Computer. (due Fri) Try out some of the exercises, but they are not to be handed in.
  • Be certain that you have access to a spreadsheet on your computer. Microsoft Excel is recommended.
    • If you do not have one, you can download and install a free alternative:
    • For the Mac, ICalc may be installed, but it is not recommended.
    • Online Google spreadsheets will work for much but not all of what we will be doing.
Thu, Jan 17

Fri, Jan 18
DUE:   First history assignment
DUE:  Read Arithmetic on a computer.

Topics:
  • some history
  • accuracy of calculations
  • order of operations
  • in-line expressions
Resources:
Assigned:
  • Watch this Intro to Excel video on youtube.
  • Read about Series in Spreadsheets  Look at problems 2, 5, 8, 11, and 14
    • Solve each using a calculator to help if necessary.  (They are solvable but mildly tedious.)
    • Next class, we will be looking at using spreadsheets to help us.   You will learn more during class if you understand what the questions are asking.
yellow divider
Mon, Jan 21

MLK Day
No classes.
Tue, Jan 22

Wed, Jan 23
DUE:  Excel intro video and Spreadsheet Series reading.

Topics:
  • Spreadsheet calculations
  • Series in spreadsheets
Today's examples:  (available under Files in Canvas)
  • PowersOf2
  • BacteriaInAPond

Assigned:
  • At this point, you should be able to do all of the problems at the end of Series in Spreadsheets. Work on them. If you have problems, ask questions.
  • Handin: Beginning of class on Friday: On paper, your answers to problems 5, 11, 13 and 14. You should include an explanation of how you got the spreadsheet to help you get your answers. (EG What formulas you typed and where.) If you give me just answers and they are wrong, no partial credit is possible.
    • For number 14, it does not give you a starting number.    Invent three starting numbers and see what happens for each.
    • You may work in pairs on this one.  Turn in only one submission.   By putting two names on it, you are stating that both people worked on each of the problems together.
Thu, Jan 24

Fri, Jan 25
DUE:   Series in Spreadshets questions from Wed.

Topics:
  • intro to functions in spreadsheets
Today's examples: (available under Files in Canvas)
  • Exercise minutes
  • Counts In Ponds
Assigned:
  • Read about Functions in Spreadsheets
    • Try all of the exercises at the end of the reading.  
    • HANDIN (beginning of class Wed): your answers on paper to exercises 1-5 and 13-20.
yellow divider
Mon, Jan 28
DUE: assignment from Friday

Topics:
  • intro to conditionals

Assigned:  read about decisions/conditionals in spreadsheets (link in canvas)
Tue, Jan 29

Wed, Jan 30

Topics:
  • conditionals in spreadsheets
Thu, Jan 31

Fri, Feb 1

No inclass topics

Assigned:  
history assignment due Monday, Feb 4 (details in Canvas)
yellow divider
Mon, Feb 4
DUE: history assignment (details in Canvas)

Topics:
  • and/or  and nested conditionals
Tue, Feb 5

Wed, Feb 6

Topics:
  • introduction to binary representations
Assigned:
Thu, Feb 7

Fri, Feb 8

Topics:
  • binary patterns and binary number system
Assigned: Assigned:
  • Take home quiz handed out.
yellow divider
Mon, Feb 11
DUE:  Take home quiz

Topics:
  • Binary, Hexadecimal, ASCII

Resource:
Tue, Feb 12

Wed, Feb 13
Due: Spreadsheets hw

Topics:
  • more with binary representations
Thu, Feb 14

Fri, Feb 15

Topics:
  • binary representation
yellow divider
Mon, Feb 18

Topics:
  • fractions and negative numbers

Worksheet handed out
Tue, Feb 19

Wed, Feb 20

Topics:
Thu, Feb 21

Fri, Feb 22

Inclass Exam
yellow divider
Mon, Feb 25
Workshop on Abstract and Sources for Tech and Society

Topics:
Tue, Feb 26

Wed, Feb 27

Topics:
Thu, Feb 28

Fri, March 1
DUE: Abstract and Sources for Tech and Society
Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, March 4 - Friday, March 8

Spring Break   No Classes

yellow divider
Mon, March 11

Topics:
Tue, March 12

Wed, March 13

Topics:
Thu, March 14

Fri, March 15

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, March 18

Topics:
Tue, March 19

Wed, March 20

Topics:
Thu, March 21

Fri, March 22

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, March 25

Topics:
Tue, March 26

Wed, March 27

Topics:
Thu, March 28

Fri, March 29

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, April 1

Topics:
Tue, April 2

Wed, April 3

Inclass Exam
Thu, April 4

Fri, April 5

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, April 8

Topics:
Tue, April 9

Wed, April 10

Topics:
Thu, April 11

Fri, April 12

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, April 15

Topics:
Tue, April 16

Wed, April 17

Topics:
Thu, April 18

Fri, April 19

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, April 22

Workshop on Tech and Society Papers


Topics:
Tue, April 23

Wed, April 24

Topics:
Thu, April 25

Fri, April 26

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, April 29
DUE:  Tech and Society Papers

Topics:
Tue, April 30

Wed, May 1


Thu, May 2


Fri, May 3

Section 01:  (The 11am section)
Final Exam:  8-10:30am
Details TBA

yellow divider
Mon, May 6


Tue, May 7
Wed, May 8

Section 02:  (The 2pm section)
Final Exam:  11:30am-2pm
Details TBA

Thu, May 9

Fri, May 10

yellow divider