CMSC 160: Introduction to Algorithmic Design I
(Fall 2018)

Section 01:
  • MWF 10-10:50am Ruffner 350
  • Thur  2-3:15 pm  Ruffner G56

Section 02:
  • MWF 11-11:50am Ruffner 350
  • Thur  9:30-10:45 pm  Ruffner G56


Course Information Handout/Syllabus

Academic Honesty Handout
text cover Tutoring:
Tu Th
5-6pm
Ruffner G56
Instructor:
Scott McElfresh
x2249       Ruffner 346
ProfScottMcElfresh @ gmail.com
Website

Office Hours:
(no appointment needed,
just drop by during these times)


yellow divider
Calendar

yellow divider
Mon, Aug 20

Topics:
  • Introduction
Video:
Assigned:
  • For Wed:  Read Chapter 1 of the textbook.
  • For Thursday:   Start getting the software for the course.
    • Windows:  Get the software named putty.   
    • All:  Watch for email about how to get accounts.
    • All:  Ensure you can access LancerNet on your laptop (not Visitor)
Tue, Aug 21

Wed, Aug 22
Due:  Chapter 1 read.  Be prepared to discuss this.

Topics:
  • ideas of programming
  • compilation
  • intro to C++

Assigned:
  • Be certain the software is installed.
  • Be sure you can access LancerNet wireless (not Visitor)
  • Consider Review Exercises on pages 23 and 24 of the text.  (not to be handed in - yet)
Thu, Aug 23

Lab exercise:  Beginning Logistics


4pm:  Optional:
CompSci upper-level majors meeting
Jeffers auditorium
Fri, Aug 24

Topics:
  • console output
  • arithmetic
Video:
Assigned:
  • Read Sections 2.1 through 2.4 of the text book.
  • On page 36 of the book is a program about volume.   Type this program into emacs and then run the program.   Get it such that the output is correct (as shown below it).
yellow divider
Mon, Aug 27
DUE: reading from Chapter 2
DUE:  Volume program from page 36

Topics:
  • I/O
  • variables and types
Todays sample programs:
  • Banquet1.cpp
  • Banquet2.cpp
Reminder:   Get the sample programs on the server via the following command:
cp  ~scottmce/160files/filename  .    

Be sure to replace filename with whatever file you wish to get.
Tue, Aug 28

Wed, Aug 29

Topics:
  • Arithmetic
  • int vs double
Thu, Aug 30

Assigned:


4pm: Optional
Computer Science Student internship and project presentations
Fri, Aug 31

Topics:
  • chars and strings

4pm: Optional
Computer Science Student internship and project presentations
yellow divider
Mon, Sept 3

Labor Day - no classes
Tue, Sept 4

Due: 8am  Problems 1 and 2 of I/O and Calculations

Wed, Sept 5

Topics:
  • Conditional Execution
Todays sample programs:
  • Banquet3.cpp
  • Banquet4.cpp
  • Banquet5.cpp
Reminder:   Get the sample programs on the server via the following command:
cp  ~scottmce/160files/filename  .
Assigned:
  • Read Chapter 3 of the text
Thu, Sept 6
Due: 8am  Problems 3 and 4 of I/O and Calculations

Assigned:
  • Exploring Conditionals (handout in class and linnked in Canvas)
Fri, Sept 7

Topics:
  • conditionals
Video:
Assigned:

4pm: Optional
Computer Science Student internship and project presentations
yellow divider
Mon, Sept 10

Class cancelled due to instructor illness.
Assignment sent via email.
Tue, Sept 11
Due 8am:

Wed, Sept 12

Topics:
  • introduction to functions
Thu, Sept 13 Due 8am:

Assigned:
Assignment during hurricane closing.
Fri, Sept 14

Classes cancelled due to hurricane.
yellow divider
Mon, Sept 17
Due: beginning of class:    Assignment during hurricane closing.

BRING LAPTOPS TO CLASS

Topics:
  • Functions
Today's sample programs on the server:
  • Greetings.cpp
  • Scoping.cpp
  • SingHB.cpp
  • SingHB2.cpp

Tue, Sept 18

Wed, Sept 19

BRING LAPTOPS TO CLASS

Lab-type work.

Program starters used in class, available on the server:
  • DisplayBirthdays.cpp
  • OldMacdonald.cpp
Thu, Sept 20

Filenames on server used in today's lab:
  • favorites.cpp
  • returns.cpp
  • smallest.cpp
  • alldifferent.cpp

In Sec 02 on Thursday:
In Sec 01 on Friday:

  • PrizesWithFunction.cpp
  • PrizesWithFunction2.cpp
  • PrizesWithFunction3.cpp
  • PrizesWithFunction4.cpp
  • PrizeFunction.cpp


Fri, Sept 21

Topics:
  • introduction to loops, counters, and accumulators


Assigned:
  • Read Sections 4.1 and 4.2 in the book for Monday.
  • Practice Quiz handed out in class.  
yellow divider
Mon, Sept 24
Due:  Read Sections 4.1 and 4.2
Topics:
  • counting and input validation

Sample programs on the server:
  • boards2.cpp
  • boards3.cpp
  • PoemsWithFunctions3.cpp
Tue, Sept 25

Wed, Sept 26
Due:  8am  Functions hw

In-class Exam
Thu, Sept 27

Lab exercise on Loops
Fri, Sept 28

Topics:
  • loop examples
Today' history video:
yellow divider
Mon, Oct 1

Topics:
  • loop examples

handout
Tue, Oct 2

Wed, Oct 3

Lab exercise done in class
Programs on server:
  • bidding.cpp
  • averaging.cpp
Thu, Oct 4


Fri, Oct 5

Class cancelled due to instructor hospitalization..
yellow divider
Mon, Oct 8

Topics:
Tue, Oct 9

Wed, Oct 10

Topics:
Thu, Oct 11

Lab exercise with more loops
Fri, Oct 12
university closed due to Hurricane
yellow divider
Mon, Oct 15  - Tue, Oct 16

FALL BREAK - no classes



Wed, Oct 17

Topics:
  • for loops
Thu, Oct 18

Lab exercise on strings and loops

Strings and Functions hw  (due Th, Oct 25)
Fri, Oct 19

Topics:
  • nested loops
yellow divider
Mon, Oct 22

Topics:
  • more with nested loops
Tue, Oct 23
Due:  8am  problems 2, 3 and 4 of lab on strings and loops
Wed, Oct 24

Topics:
  • intro to vectors
Thu, Oct 25
DUE: 8am  Strings and Functions hw

Lab exercise on exploring vectors
Fri, Oct 26

Topics:
  • more with vectors
yellow divider
Mon, Oct 29

Lab exercise
Tue, Oct 30

Wed, Oct 31

Topics:
Thu, Nov 1
Due: 8am   Bird Sightings

Lab on vectors and functions (details in Canvas)
Fri, Nov 2

Topics:
  • parallel vectors
yellow divider
Mon, Nov 5

Topics:
Tue, Nov 6

Wed, Nov 7

Topics:
Thu, Nov 8

continued work on previous labs
Fri, Nov 9

In-class Exam
yellow divider
Mon, Nov 12

Topics:
  • calling functions in loops, using prime numbers  as an example
Tue, Nov 13

Wed, Nov 14

Topics:
  • intro to structs
Thu, Nov 15

Lab exercise on files

Lab Exercise on structs

Assigned:  (to be linked soon)
Fri, Nov 16

Lab day : bring laptops
yellow divider
Mon, Nov 19

Topics:
Tue, Nov 20

Wed, Nov 21 - Fri, Nov 23

Thanksgiving Break - no classes


yellow divider
Mon, Nov 26

Topics:
Tue, Nov 27

Wed, Nov 28

Topics:
Thu, Nov 29

Lab exercise
Fri, Nov 30
Due 5pm:
  • Zodiac hw
  • Cheese Inventory HW
  • Exam 2 extra credit

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Dec 3

Section 01:  Final exam
3-5:30pm
Tue, Dec 4

Wed, Dec 5


Thu, Dec 6

Fri, Dec 7

Section 02: Final exam
8-10:30am
yellow divider