CMSC 140:  Intro to Programming
(Fall 2018)


Section 01: MWF 1-1:50 pm Ruffner 350
Section 02: MWF 2-2:50 pm Ruffner 352


Course Information Handout/Syllabus

Academic Honesty in Programming
text Tutoring:
Tu Th
5-6pm
Ruffner G56
Instructor:
Scott McElfresh
x2249       Ruffner 346
ProfScottMcElfresh @ gmail.com
Website

Office Hours:
(no appointment needed,
just drop by during these times)


yellow divider
Calendar
Mon, Aug 20

Topics:
  • Introduction
Video:
Assigned:
  • Get the Python and IDLE software.
    • Download the installer.  (the one that starts with 3.7)
    • Run the installer.
    • Note:  you do NOT need to try to actually run the software to see that the installation worked.   We will take care of this in class.
  • Read Chapter 1 in the book.   Focus on sections 1.1 through 1.3.  Skim the rest.

Tue, Aug 21

Wed, Aug 22
Due: Software downloaded and installed.
Due: Chapter 1 read.

BRING LAPTOPS TODAY

Topics:
  • Introduction to software and process

Inclass:
Software Check exercise

Assigned:
  • For Friday, read the rest of chapter 1.

Thu, Aug 23

Fri, Aug 24
Due:  All of Chapter 1 read.

Topics:
  • console output
  • variables
  • arithmetic
Video:
Assigned:
  • Read Sections 2.1-2.3 of the textbook.
  • Read about Turtle Graphics.  
  • In the book, there is a program that starts at the bottom of page 33 and finishes at the top of the next page.    Type this program in and get it to work.
yellow divider
Mon, Aug 27
DUE:  Reading from Chapter 2
DUE:  Reading about Turtle Graphics
DUE:  Volume program from page 33 of the book.

BRING YOUR LAPTOPS TODAY

Topics: Assigned:
Limerick (due Th, Aug 30 at 8am)
Tue, Aug 28

Wed, Aug 29

Topics:
  • Variables
  • Input

Assigned:
  • Work with  programs House3-House6 found in Canvas.
  • Re-read Sections 2.1 through 2.3.   Also look at Section 2.4
Thu, Aug 30

Due:  8am
Limerick
Fri, Aug 31

BRING YOUR LAPTOPS TODAY

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Sept 3
LABOR DAY - no classes
Tue, Sept 4

Wed, Sept 5
Due 8am:   dinner and tips (#7 from Input and Arithmetic exercise)
Topics:
  • Strings

Assigned:
  • Read Sections 3.1 through 3.4 of the book.
Thu, Sept 6

Fri, Sept 7

Topics:

Video:
Assigned:
yellow divider
Mon, Sept 10
Due:  Conditionals Work

Class cancelled due to instructor illness.
Assignment sent via email.
Tue, Sept 11

Wed, Sept 12
Due: 8am Banquet

Topics:
  • introduction to Conditionals
Thu, Sept 13

Assigned:
Conditionals assignment during Hurricane  (due Mon)
Fri, Sept 14
Due:  8am French Flag

Classes Cancelled due to Hurricane.
yellow divider
Mon, Sept 17
Due:  Condtionals assignment during Hurricane.

Topics:
  • Work with Conditionals
Tue, Sept 18

Wed, Sept 19

BRING LAPTOPS TO CLASS

Assigned:
Thu, Sept 20

Fri, Sept 21

Topics:
  • Introduction to loops and counting variables
Assigned for Monday:
  • Read sections 4.1 and 4.2
  • Do Self-check exercises 1-4 on page 169. (This requires typing in a program from the book and running it.)
  • Skim sections 4.3 and 4.5
yellow divider
Mon, Sept 24
Due: 12noon  more conditionals
Due:  beginning of class reading and work on while loops assigned on Friday

Topics:
Tue, Sept 25

Wed, Sept 26

Topics:
Thu, Sept 27

Fri, Sept 28

In-class Exam
yellow divider
Mon, Oct 1

Topics:
Tue, Oct 2

Wed, Oct 3

Topics:
Thu, Oct 4

Fri, Oct 5

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Oct 8

Topics:
Tue, Oct 9

Wed, Oct 10

Topics:
Thu, Oct 11

Fri, Oct 12

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Oct 15  - Tue, Oct 16

FALL BREAK - no classes



Wed, Oct 17

Topics:
  • Data project assignment
Thu, Oct 18

Fri, Oct 19

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Oct 22

Topics:
Tue, Oct 23

Wed, Oct 24

Topics:
Thu, Oct 25

Fri, Oct 26

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Oct 29

Topics:
Tue, Oct 30

Wed, Oct 31

Topics:
Thu, Nov 1

Fri, Nov 2

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Nov 5

Topics:
Tue, Nov 6

Wed, Nov 7

Topics:
Thu, Nov 8

Fri, Nov 9

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Nov 12

Topics:
Tue, Nov 13

Wed, Nov 14

Topics:
Thu, Nov 15

Fri, Nov 16

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Nov 19

Topics:
Tue, Nov 20

Wed, Nov 21 - Fri, Nov 23

Thanksgiving Break - no classes


yellow divider
Mon, Nov 26

Topics:
Tue, Nov 27

Wed, Nov 28

Topics:
Thu, Nov 29

Fri, Nov 30

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Dec 3

Topics:
Tue, Dec 4

Wed, Dec 5

Section 02:  Final exam
8-10:30am
Thu, Dec 6

Fri, Dec 7

Section 01:  Final exam
3-5:30pm
yellow divider