CMSC 162: Introduction to Algorithmic Design II
(Fall 2017)

MWF 12-12:50pm Ruffner G54
Thur  9:30-10:45am   Ruffner G56

Course Information Handout/Syllabus

Academic Honesty Handout
text cover Tutoring:
TuTh
Grainger G01
5-6pm
Instructor:
Scott McElfresh
x2249       Ruffner 346
ProfScottMcElfresh @ gmail.com
Website

Office Hours:
(no appointment needed,
just drop by during these times)


yellow divider
Calendar

yellow divider
Mon, Aug 21

Topics:
  • Introduction
  • Begin review of C++ basics

Assigned:
  • Review the topics of:  cin, cout, if, while, for, functions, parameters
  • Read Chapter 1 of the text.
Tue, Aug 22

Wed, Aug 23

Topics:
  • review of basic C++ items
  • switch statements
Thu, Aug 24

Lab exercise


Assigned:
Review hw to be linked soon
Fri, Aug 25

Topics:
  • function prototypes
  • .h and .cpp files
  • intro to separate compilation
  • do-while loops
yellow divider
Mon, Aug 28

Topics:
  • review of returns and parameters
  • references
Tue, Aug 29

Wed, Aug 30

Topics:
Thu, Aug 31

Lab exercise
Fri, Sept 1

Topics:
  • Review of .cpp/.h files
  • Review of structs
  • Intro to classes
Photo:
yellow divider
Mon, Sept 4

Labor Day
No classes

Tue, Sept 5

Wed, Sept 6

Topics:
  • Class definition
  • Method definition
Code: Photo:
Thu, Sept 7

Lab exercise
Fri, Sept 8

Lab day
yellow divider
Mon, Sept 11

Topics:
  • classes 
  • vector review
Tue, Sept 12

Wed, Sept 13

Topics:
  • vectors and objects
Thu, Sept 14

Lab exercise on Vectors and Classes
Fri, Sept 15

Topics:
  • Searching (linear)
  • Sorting
    • Bubble(ish)
    • Selection
Photo:
yellow divider
Mon, Sept 18

Topics:
Tue, Sept 19

Wed, Sept 20

Topics:
  • Recursive strategies
  • Searching
Photos:
Thu, Sept 21

Lab exercise
Fri, Sept 22

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Sept 25

Topics:
Tue, Sept 26

Wed, Sept 27

Topics:
Thu, Sept 28

Lab exercise
Fri, Sept 29

Inclass Exam
yellow divider
Mon, Oct 2

Topics:
Tue, Oct 3

Wed, Oct 4

Topics:
Thu, Oct 5

Lab exercise
Fri, Oct 6

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Oct 9

Topics:
Tue, Oct 10

Wed, Oct 11

Topics:
Thu, Oct 12

Lab exercise
Fri, Oct 13

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Oct 16 - Tue, Oct 17

Fall Break
No Classes
Wed, Oct 18

Topics:
Thu, Oct 19

Lab exercise
Fri, Oct 20

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Oct 23

Topics:
Tue, Oct 24

Wed, Oct 25

Topics:
Thu, Oct 26

Lab exercise
Fri, Oct 27

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Oct 30

Topics:
Tue, Oct 31

Wed, Nov 1

Topics:
Thu, Nov 2

Lab exercise
Fri, Nov 3

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Nov 6

Topics:
Tue, Nov 7

Wed, Nov 8

Inclass Exam
Thu, Nov 9

Lab exercise
Fri, Nov 10

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Nov 13

Topics:
Tue, Nov 14

Wed, Nov 15

Topics:
Thu, Nov 16

Lab exercise
Fri, Nov 17

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Nov 20

Topics:
Tue, Nov 21

Wed, Nov 22  -  Fri, Nov 24

Thanksgiving Break
No Classes

yellow divider
Mon, Nov 27

Topics:
Tue, Nov 28

Wed, Nov 29

Topics:
Thu, Nov 30

Lab exercise
Fri, Dec 1

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Dec 4

11:30am - 2pm
Final Exam

Details TBA

Tue, Dec 5

Wed, Dec 6


Thu, Dec 7

Fri, Dec 8


yellow divider