CMSC 121-01: Introduction to Computer Science
(Fall 2017)


MWF 11-11:50am Ruffner G54


Course Information Handout/Syllabus
Instructor:
Scott McElfresh
x2249       Ruffner 346
ProfScottMcElfresh @ gmail.com
Website

Office Hours:
(no appointment needed,
just drop by during these times)


yellow divider
Calendar

Mon, Aug 21

Topics:
  • Introduction
  • What is Computer Science
Video:

Assigned:

  • Technology and Society assignment (due dates in stages)
  • Be sure that you can access the LancerNet wireless on your laptop.
  • First history assignment (due Wed)
  • Read about Arithmetic on a Computer. (due Wed) Try out some of the exercises, but they are not to be handed in.
  • Be certain that you have access to a spreadsheet on your computer. Microsoft Excel is recommended.
    • If you do not have one, you can download and install a free alternative:
    • For the Mac, ICalc may be installed, but it is not recommended.
    • Online Google spreadsheets will work for much but not all of what we will be doing.
Tue, Aug 22

Wed, Aug 23
Due:
  • History assignment from Monday
  • Arithmetic reading assignment completed
Topics:
  • History of computing and accuracy of calculations
  • Order of Operations
  • in-line expressions
Resources:
Assigned:
  • Be certain you have a spreadsheet program available to you onyour laptop.
  • Be sure you can access LancerNet wireless on your laptop (not visitor)..
  • Watch this Intro to Excel video on youtube.
  • Read about Series in Spreadsheets  Look at problems 2, 5, 8, 11, and 14
    • Solve each using a calculator to help if necessary.  (They are solvable but mildly tedious.)
    • On Friday, we will be looking at using spreadsheets to help us.   You will learn more during Friday's class if you understand the questions.
Thu, Aug 24

Fri, Aug 25

Topics:
  • series in spreadsheets

In class Examples:
Assigned:
  • At this point, you should be able to do all of the problems at the end of Series in Spreadsheets. Work on them. If you have problems, ask questions.
  • Handin: Beginning of class on Monday: On paper, your answers to problems 5, 11, 13 and 14. You should include an explanation of how you got the spreadsheet to help you get your answers. (EG What formulas you typed and where.) If you give me just answers and they are wrong, no partial credit is possible.
yellow divider
Mon, Aug 28
Due:  5,11,13,and 14 from Series in Spreadsheets

Topics:
  • intro to functions in spreadsheets
Resources:
Assigned:
  • Read about Functions in Spreadsheets
    • Try all of the exercises at the end of the reading.  
    • HANDIN (beginning of class Wed): your answers on paper to exercises 1-5 and 13-20.
Tue, Aug 29

Wed, Aug 30
DUE: problems from Functions in Spreadsheets assigned on Monday.

CLASS CANCELLED
Thu, Aug 31

Fri, Sept 1

QUIZ

Assigned:
yellow divider
Mon, Sept 4

Labor Day
No Classes
Tue, Sept 5

Wed, Sept 6

Assigned:
Thu, Sept 7

Fri, Sept 8

Career presentation
yellow divider
Mon, Sept 11

Topics:
  • Conditionals in Spreadsheets

Inclass Examples:
Tue, Sept 12

Wed, Sept 13

Topics:
  • More with Booleans

Inclass Examples:
Assigned:
Additional Resource:
Thu, Sept 14

Fri, Sept 15

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Sept 18

Topics:
Tue, Sept 19

Wed, Sept 20
Due: Spreadsheets exercise (beginning of class)

Topics:
Thu, Sept 21

Fri, Sept 22

Inclass Exam
yellow divider
Mon, Sept 25

Topics:
Tue, Sept 26

Wed, Sept 27

Topics:
Thu, Sept 28

Fri, Sept 29

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Oct 2

Topics:
Tue, Oct 3

Wed, Oct 4

Topics:
Thu, Oct 5

Fri, Oct 6
DUE: Technology and Society Sources and Abstract List

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Oct 9

Topics:
Tue, Oct 10

Wed, Oct 11

Topics:
Thu, Oct 12

Fri, Oct 13

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Oct 16 - Tue, Oct 17

Fall Break
No Classes
Wed, Oct 18

Topics:
Thu, Oct 19

Fri, Oct 20

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Oct 23

Topics:
Tue, Oct 24

Wed, Oct 25

Topics:
Thu, Oct 26

Fri, Oct 27

Topics:

yellow divider
Mon, Oct 30

Topics:
Tue, Oct 31

Wed, Nov 1

Topics:
Thu, Nov 2

Fri, Nov 3

Inclass Exam
yellow divider
Mon, Nov 6

Topics:
Tue, Nov 7

Wed, Nov 8

Topics:
Thu, Nov 9

Fri, Nov 10

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Nov 13

Topics:
Tue, Nov 14

Wed, Nov 15

Topics:
Thu, Nov 16

Fri, Nov 17

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Nov 20

Topics:
Tue, Nov 21

Wed, Nov 22   -   Fri, Nov 24

Thanksgiving Break
No Classes


yellow divider
Mon, Nov 27

Topics:
Tue, Nov 28

Wed, Nov 29

Topics:
Thu, Nov 30

Fri, Dec 1
DUE:  Technology and Society Writing assignment

Topics:
yellow divider
Mon, Dec 4

8-10:30 am
Final Exam

Details TBA


Tue, Dec 5

Wed, Dec 6


Thu, Dec 7

Fri, Dec 8


yellow divider